Updates

It has been a while since I’ve been here so bare with me as I dust off my Blog. I thought while I was dusting this thing off, I’d give you an update on where I’ve been and what I’ve been up to!

My Blog tells me that I haven’t visited since April of 2017, which is quite a long time. In this time my life has been mostly overtaken with my new job, which is both wonderful and wonderfully demanding. It is a job like I’ve never had before, with a boss and team that are nothing but absolutely committed to supporting each other! After my last job, where management didn’t seem to feel like they were doing their job if they weren’t tell you what you were doing wrong with yours, it is a breath of fresh air. I feel totally empowered to do my job, and completely valued by my co-workers!

The one downside, I would say, is that during our busy summer months at work, I have less time for writing. That is thankfully offset by a slower off-season where I can once again jump into the awesomeness that is WriYe! (If you are a writer and haven’t checked it out, I highly recommend it! WriYe Forums)

After a hiatus from writing, I got back into the swing of things in October 2018 with a fresh novel. I find that after I haven’t been writing for a long time, a new novel is the best way to find my momentum. In the back of my mind I’m always thinking about the projects that I really should be working on, but as I’ve mentioned before, motivation is a fragile thing and its best to baby it sometimes!

The novel I started in Oct. 2018 is called “Vector” and it’s a Survival Horror. It’s a genre that I’ve wanted to write for a while, but wasn’t really sure which way I wanted to go with it. I had toyed with some RPs on the subject and slowly began to envision the devistated world that I wanted to set my novel in. “Vector” was a great jump into writing again and I am pleased to announce that I stuck with it and completed my first draft in January 2019! This was a wonderful accomplishment because it was the first novel I was able to scratch off “The Big 5.”

“The Big 5” is my list of novels that I have started over the years that I hope to finish this year. With that being said, the chance of me finishing all five are pretty slim but if I don’t set my sights high, I’ll never know what I can accomplish. I would be perfectly happy if I can strike just two off of “The Big 5”

I have lots of plans for this year and I’ll update my blog with more challenges and updates as the year progresses. With any luck, I will be able to update more regularly, so stay tuned!

Also, a big shout out to Keri and Liz, whose Blogs are what inspired me to pick up my own again!

The Big Five

1. Chaotic Galaxies: Into the Mist

Genre: Science Fiction

Summary: The next installment of the Chaotic Galaxies Series. When Hannah left her homeworld of Misturia, she never thought that she would ever go back. She had no idea that a close call with Slavers would send her and her friends fleeing into the Mist that protects her home world. They take refuge on Misturia, a world that only one of her kind could find, but it is not the reunion she expected. Apparently Hannah has returned just in time to save her world from destruction!

2. Lightning

Genre: Horror

Summary: A class trip to a museum turns deadly when the class encounters a sudden and dangerous storm on the way home. They are forced to land at an abandoned resort on the side of the old highway in the mountains, only to find out that what they thought was a stroke of luck, was also the thing the nightmares. The storm refuses to move on, and seems to have a mind of its own. They’ll have to figure out what’s really going on before the lightning claims every last one of them!

3. Antibodies: End Game

Genre: Horror/Zombie

Summary: Becca had always been out for herself, and even more so when the world ended and the dead walked. A chance encounter led to her being taken in by a group which she unwittingly became part of. Now that it seems that she isn’t going to be able to shake her newfound group, she’s starting to look at things different. She decides that its time to find a way that her immunity can benefit others, and not just herself. Even though it goes against everything she once was, she now heads out on a quest to find out if there is anyone left that can use her immunity for the good of mankind. (what’s left of it anyways)

4. Vector

Genre: Survival Horror

Summary: The world has Changed. After a series of horrible mutations and mass deaths, the remaining population are forced to survive in a world now populated with horrific monsters that used to be human.

5. Hidden in Plain Sight

Genre: Urban Fantasy

Summary: On their world those with magic are often hunted by their own kind to acquire their magic. Some of the weaker magic users turn to Anya for protection. She does the only thing she can, open a portal to the modern world in order to hide these magic refugees away from those who would hunt them. All seemed well, and for a couple years these refugees were able to blend in with our world, forgetting the threats of their home. Then Anya recieves a frightened call from her friend. She arrives only to find her friend is dead and her magic stone has been taken. Now Anya must find out who is hunting her people and fears it may be one of the refugees.

Leave a comment